My Yummiest Lovies |

6011063I recently got some of the ‘big kid’ books (I.e. paper back and easily tear-able) down from the top shelf. My daughter is now ready for these kind of books and can be more careful with the paper pages (hopefully!!) πŸ˜€

One of the books in this collection was, “Yummiest Love” by Lisa McCourt.Β  I began reading this story to Aderyn and when I got to the last few pages I began to choke up… I had to take a second and ‘re-group’ in order to continue reading it to her, albeit doing so with a crackly and high pitched, trying-not-to-cry voice.

It says some beautiful things that capture how I feel about my beautiful kiddos and I wanted to share them here so that one day, if they are looking back on this ‘online scrapbook’ of their childhoods, they know I felt these things about them and how much I love them!

Warning, you may also need a tissue upon reading these beautiful sentiments…

“I love our gentle, quiet times. And the warmth of your small body and the beautiful beating of your perfect little heart.”

“I treasure every memory we make. Memories of special days and all the days in between, each day wrapped in the yummiest love.”

“I love all our tickles and tumbles and smiles. I love everything you’ve been and everything you’ll become.”

It seems impossible that I could love you more each day but that is what happens. You keep changing and growing and that will never stop. All I can do is hang on for the ride.”

“I love you more than sunshine. More than the moon and the million twinkling stars. Thank you for being the you that you are.”

I love the sentence about loving everything they have been and everything they will become as that is what being a parent is all about. Fostering the person they truly are and guiding and directing them as they grow. It also reinforces a positive goal/hope for your children that they will always strive to be the best version of themselves they can be.

I would like to combine that sentence with the last one about the sunshine and the moon and stars and have it be a quote/sentiment that I tell them often…perhaps every night before bed…“I love everything you’ve been and everything you’ll become. I love you more than sunshine. More than the moon and the million twinkling stars. Thank you for being the you that you are.”

My beautiful Aderyn Joy

5star_e15 (22 of 48)

My Handsome Brandt Maxwell

5star_e15 (47 of 48)

I love you so much my sweet “Lunnies.” I am so proud of you both and will only continue to be more proud each day as you grow into the people you will become.

❀ – Your Momma

Leave a Reply

